Analyzing Bangladesh’s squad for the T20 World Cup

tennis player

Bangladesh announced their squad for the mega event in Australia next month. Bangladesh start their campaign on 24th October against Group A runner-up at 3:00 PM IST in Hobart.

Mahamdullah’s exclusion was the talking point of the selection. Yasir Ali replaced him. Even though he was out of form recently, his experience and calmness could have boosted Bangladesh’s chances to go far in the tournament. His ability to play crucial knocks during critical times would have come in handy. The all-rounder Mahedi Hasan was unlucky to miss the final 15. But he was added to the reserves.

Though, the return of Liton Das and Nurul Hasan Sohan after their injuries is an encouraging side for Bangladesh. Hasan Mahmud and Yasir Ali Chowdary were also included in the squad after their recovery from injuries. Sabbir Rahman returned to the squad after 3 years in this year’s Asia Cup. He retained his spot in the team. The Bangla Tigers have a pace battery in the form of Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, and Mustafizur Rahman. They have Sabbir, Afif, Nurul, and Mossadek as middle-order options. They have 2 all-rounders Mohammad Saifuddin and Mehedi Hasan Miraz. Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, and Soumya Sarkar are included in the reserves.  

The recent form of Bangladesh is a serious worry. The team failed to reach the Super 4 of the Asia Cup. They had failed to win a single match in the previous edition of the World Cup. Moreover, without senior players like Tamim, Mushfiqur, and Mahmadullah, the young and inexperienced side needs to play out of their skins to compete in the tournament down under. Shakib and his boys would be looking forward to making a statement about the transition in Bangladesh Cricket. 

Bangladesh squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan (VC), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Yasir Ali, Nasum Ahmed, Najmul Hossain Shanto

Standby Players: Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Soumya Sarkar

Follow us for more sports-related news on twitter

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

To Top