Andhra Pradesh wins the National Blind Cricket Final

Andhra Pradesh, Six Sports

The T20 National Cricket Tournament for the Blind 2021-22 started on 17th November 2021 with 28 State Teams competing for the 4th IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy. It came down to the Southern powerhouses Andhra Pradesh & Karnataka who competed for their pride to claim glory.

Andhra Pradesh had qualified for the National Blind Cricket final for the fourth consecutive time. With this thumping victory, they have now won the IndusInd Bank Nagesh Trophy twice. They faced Karnataka on November 25 in the Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi. Karnataka were in the finals for the second time since the tournament started in 2019.

Andhra Pradesh beat Karnataka By 27 Runs

Andhra Pradesh, batting first, posted a mammoth total of 231-3 in their 20 overs. Karnataka played exceptionally well scoring 204 runs but fell short of 27 runs. Venkateshwara Rao was the top-scorer for Andhra with 85 Runs off 36 balls. He was declared the ‘Player of the Match’ for his astonishing strokeplay with the bat.

Chief Guest Meenakshi Lekhi, Honorable Minister of State for External Affairs of India, spoke highly about the spirit and integrity of the players.

She said,

“I am amazed at the felicitous co-ordination of the organisers, sponsors, DDCA, British & Australian High Commissions and supporters for their generosity and firm belief in the spirit of our wonderful players. I extend my best wishes to the contending teams. I can be very judicious in my assessment without taking sides. I am excited about the Women’s Blind National Tournament due to be held in Bangalore next year. Our government has been putting in tremendous efforts to bring in the gender parity.”

Andhra Pradesh had a dream campaign and ended as the table toppers. Winning all their 5 league matches, they have proved their dominance once again. Karnataka secured 4 wins in their 5 matches and were quite optimistic to claim the title against Andhra.

The semi-final clash took place between CAB Haryana vs CAB Andhra Pradesh at Siri Fort Sports Complex New Delhi. Andhra Pradesh (181/4, 17.4 overs) chased Haryana’s total of 180 runs, winning the match by 6 wickets. Ajay Reddy was the highest scorer for Andhra with 63 Runs off 37 balls and was declared the ‘Player of the match’.

Andhra Pradesh, Six Sports

The other semi-final match took place between CAB Karnataka vs CAB Odisha at Saket Sports Complex New Delhi. Karnataka (172/2, 16.5 overs) defeated Odisha (171/6, 20 overs) by 8 wickets. Prakash Jayaramaiah scored a stellar 100 Runs in 64 balls with 16 boundaries with a monstrous strike rate of 156.25. He was the ‘Player of the Match’ for Karnataka.

World T20 for the Blind: Search for Match-Winners

India are the reigning champions of Blind Cricket post their epic World Cup victory back in 2018. The team will surely look to retain its glory and will look forward to having champion players in the team, who dominate the National Arena.

Reports suggest that a probable pool of 56 players will be selected prior to the World Championships. Out of them, 17 will make the cut for the final squad and represent India in the upcoming T20 World Cup for the blind.

Stay updated by following us on Twitter.

To Top