Andy McBrine has work to do, says Ireland head coach Heinrich Malan after T20 World Cup omission

Women's Cricket

The T20 world cup is around the corner and every participating team is gearing up for the mega event. This time it is going to be hosted by Australia. Coincidentally Australia are defending champions and favorites for this edition too. Most of the participating teams have announced their squads for the world cup. There is some inclusion of new faces and exclusion of some too. Similar is the case with Ireland. Andy McBrine has been excluded from the side which is going to play in the upcoming world cup.

Andy McBrine’s exclusion from the t20 world cup side

Head coach Henrich Malan’s statement:

” Simi has one or more tools in his tool box (and) has done a good job taking wickets. Andy has done well economically but we are trying to impose a brand of brave cricket and looking to take wickets (he took only three in 38 overs this summer). He has a little work to do and has got that message. We don’t play as much as some of the other nations do, so the games added more exposure and experience for our players and it worked out well. They ensured they kept playing and are match fit and it was a way of trying to find opportunities for the boys, who took a lot out of it. We created situations for players to bat in different scenarios, gave our bowlers experience in different situations. Hopefully they can put that money in the bank and withdraw it in Australia. “

Henrich backs every player and gives him chance to make his comeback. He gives a player a good amount of playing chances. But Andy’s exclusion from the side is surprising. When questions were raised he answered each of them. Andy is a good economical bowler but his lack of taking wickets cost him a place in the squad. He played 32 t20i and in total 23 wickets are under his name. He bowls with an economy of 7.16.

Ireland squad for t20 world cup 2022

A Balbirnie (capt), M Adair, C Campher, G Delany, G Dockrell, S Doheny, F Hand, J Little, B McCarthy, C Olphert, S Singh, P Stirling, H Tector, L Tucker, C Young.

For more information about sports, do visit us on twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top
error: Content is protected !!