Ashwin and Mithali Raj to be nominated by BCCI for Khel Ratna Award

Ashwin Mithali, Six Sports

The BCCI has recommended the names Indian off-spinner R Ashwin and veteran women’s cricketer Mithali Raj for the prestigious Khel Ratna award. The Indian board has also recommended Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Jasprit Bumrah for the Arjuna award.

We had a detailed discussion and it was decided to send in the names of Ashwin and women’s Test and ODI skipper Mithali’s name for the Khel Ratna. We are recommending Dhawan again for the Arjuna while we will also suggest the names of Rahul and Bumrah,” a source told ANI.

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports had earlier decided to extend the last date of submission of application for the upcoming National Sports Awards 2021. While the previous date to submit the nominations was June 21, it was extended.

Mithali Raj to get nominated by BCCI

Mithali, a wonderful ambassador for women’s cricket in India, recently completed 22 years in international cricket. She is also the leading run-getter in ODIs with over 7, 000 runs under her belt.

Ashwin Mithali, Six Sports

In an unprecedented move, the prestigious Khel Ratna was awarded to five Indian sportspersons last year. Manika Batra, Rohit Sharma, Vinesh Phogat, Rani Rampal, and Mariyappan Phangavelu were awarded the Khel Ratna last year. It was for the first time in the history of Indian sports that five Indian athletes were awarded the Khel Ratna in the same year.

Ravichandran Ashwin to get Khel Ratna Award

Besides Mithali, Ashwin has been a consistent performer for the Indian team in the longest format of the game. He has 413 wickets in 79 Tests to his name and is one of the most formidable spinners in Test cricket. Now a Test specialist, Ashwin has also claimed 150 and 42 wickets respectively in ODIs and T20s.

Ashwin Mithali, Six Sports

Dhawan is also an experienced campaigner and will lead the Indian team on the tour of Sri Lanka. The left-handed batsman has scored 5977 runs in 142 ODIs. He has 2315 and 1673 Test and T20 runs respectively. He is the frontrunner for the Arjuna Award.

To Top