Asia Cup 2022 Schedule Declared

tennis player

The 15th edition of Asia Cup 2022 is all set to ring the bell on 27 August in UAE. The final set will be played on September 11.

ICC has finally declared the schedule for the tournament set to begin on August 27. United Arab Emirates (UAE) will be hosting the tournament. Initially, it was Sri Lanka’s responsibility to do so. But their ongoing political and economical unrest forced them to declare their inability to conduct it. However, it was the last week when the Asian Cricket Council (UAE) shifted the tournament to UAE.

The most awaited India vs Pakistan rivalry will be held just a day later, on 28th August, in Dubai. The final will be played on September 11.

A total of 9 teams will be participating. UAE, Kuwait, Singapore, and Hong Kong will play a qualifying round. The winner finally will join the main tournament with India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

Ultimately, six teams will play in the main tournament. The teams are henceforth divided into two groups. India, Pakistan, and the qualifier are in Group A. However, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan form Group B. Each team plays within the group once.

The top two teams will finally qualify for the Super 4 round. There, the teams will face each other in league format again. Finally, the top two will play to lift the trophy.

UAE conducted the 2018 Asia Cup, which was also played in UAE, in the ODI format. However, it will be in a complete T-20I format this year.

Schedule for Asia Cup 2022:

All matches will start at 6 PM Gulf Standard Time.

Group A:

India v Pakistan: 28th August, Dubai.
India v Qualifier: 31st August, Dubai.
Pakistan v Qulaifier: 2nd September, Sharjah.

Group B:

Sri Lanka v Afghanistan: 27th August, Dubai.
Bangladesh v Afghanistan, 30th August, Sharjah.
Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 1st September, Dubai.

Super 4:

B1 v B2: 3rd September, Sharjah.
A1 v A2: 4th September, Dubai.
A1 v B1: 6th September, Dubai.
A2 v B2: 7th September, Dubai.
A1 v B2: 8th September, Dubai.
B1 v A2: 9th September, Dubai.
Final: 11th September, Dubai.

Follow us on Twitter

To Top