Azharuddin to be part of the BCCI working group for domestic cricket

Azharuddin, Six Sports

Mohammad Azharuddin, Rohan Jaitley, Avishek Dalmiya, and Jaydev Shah will be part of the new BCCI working group. It has been formed by the BCCI to look into domestic cricket.

The other members of the panel are Yudhvir Singh (central zone), Devajit Saikia (Northeast zone), Santosh Menon (south zone). They will work along with the BCCI president Sourav Ganguly, vice-president Rajiv Shukla, secretary Jay Shah, and treasurer Arun Dhumal.

Azharuddin, Six Sports

On June 20, the BCCI apex council had decided that a 10-member committee will be formed. They will look into the compensation package for the domestic season and the other aspects of domestic cricket. In a letter to state units on Saturday, secretary Jay Shah wrote: “I look forward to your continued support as the BCCI moves towards the resumption of domestic cricket.

The importance of the newly formed group and addition of Azharuddin:

Azharuddin is currently the head of the Hyderabad Cricket Association, while Jaitley is the president of Delhi and District Cricket Association. Shah, a former first-class cricketer heads the Saurashtra Cricket Association, while Dalmiya is the Cricket Association of Bengal chief. Santosh Menon is the head of the Karnataka State Cricket Association.

The seven-member committee will also be responsible for the feasibility of bio-bubbles across the country for the conduct of the domestic season. Apart from finalizing venues and logistics. Board president Sourav Ganguly has already underlined the importance of creating bio-bubbles for the season.

Azharuddin, Six Sports

We will create bio-bubbles,” he told reporters last week. “We created bubbles for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy last time. We will have to do the same. Without the bubble, cricket cannot happen even for this season.

Earlier this month, the BCCI announced a full domestic season beginning September with the women’s one-day tournament. As many as 2127 matches – men’s, women’s and age-group – are slated to be conducted across the country. The men’s season is set to kick off with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20s, which will begin five days after the IPL final in the UAE, on October 20. The Ranji Trophy has been slotted into a three-month window, from November 16, 2021, to February 19, 2022.

To Top