FIFA plans to postpone Club World Cup until 2022

tennis player

FIFA wants to postpone the Club World Cup until early next year due to hosting issues related to the epidemic. This is according to individuals acquainted with the preparations.

Owing to coronavirus limitations, Japan withdrew from hosting the seven-team tournament in December. While South Africa also dropped out due to the necessity to vaccinate a larger portion of the country.

According to the Associated Press, FIFA is now considering keeping the tournament in January or February. Because they were not allowed to disclose ongoing negotiations, they spoke on the condition of anonymity. Qatar is an alternative, as Bayern Munich proved in February when they won the postponed 2020 edition in Doha.

As part of World Cup preparations, FIFA has already scheduled the Arab Cup competition for December in Qatar. With Chelsea qualifying as Champions League winners, the Club World Cup could draw a larger international audience. This is so as the London based club has quite a lot of fans from overseas. As well as bringing more viewers to see the matches.

It will cause a Premier League weekend to be chaotic for the west London club. As it would have been if the event had been held in December as planned. The pandemic forced the rescheduling of national team competitions in June, thus an expanded 24-team Club World Cup was supposed to debut this year in China. Due to this, there was a chance for the Club World Cup to be postponed to a further date. But due to the current packed schedules of teams around the world. With the World Cup being hosted in 2022.

WHat Is The Club World Cup?

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. Who organises the FIFA Club World Cup, an international men’s association football championship. The FIFA Club World Championship was held for the first time in 2000. It was not held from 2001 to 2004 due to several causes in the past due to logistical reasons. The most serious of which was the collapse of FIFA’s marketing partner International Sport and Leisure (ISL). But it has been staged every year since 2005, with Brazil, Japan, the United Arab Emirates, Morocco, and Qatar hosting it. The cup’s prestige is disputed due to certain reasons. It fails to pique attention in most of Europe and is a point of contention in South America.

As a result, the seven-team format was renewed for another year. With the six continental club champions joining the host nation’s domestic league winner. It has been seen in the past that most of the winners are from the European Champions. While due to this there have been quite a few discussions on if the trophy should be counted as a form of silverware. There is a massive gap in talent as well as resources between the team from different countries. With this teams from the Continent of Europe has the upper hand.

Last season the winner of the Trophy was Bayern Munich. Only time will tell if the Club World Cup would be postponed or not.

Please follow our Twitter page for more updates.

To Top