ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 shifted to UAE: BCCI to remain the host

T20 World Cup, Six Sports

The venue for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates and Oman. This has been announced by International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday. The tournament is scheduled to be held from October 17 to November 14.

The tournament was originally set to be staged in India. But now had to be shifted, given the consequences of the second wave of Covid-19 on the country,” ICC said in a statement.

BCCI to host the T20 World Cup

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly is still hoping to remain the host of the T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup, Six Sports

The BCCI is looking forward to hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 tournament in UAE and Oman. We would have been happier hosting it in India.But considering the uncertainty due to the Covid-19 situation, the BCCI will now continue to host this tournament in UAE and Oman. The BCCI is looking forward to creating a spectacle, said BCCI president Sourav Ganguly.

The reaction of ICC CEO on Shifting the venue

ICC will work closely with the BCCI, the Emirates Cricket Board, and Oman Cricket to ensure fans can enjoy a wonderful celebration of cricket. This will be the first Men’s T20 World Cup played since 2016 when West Indies had beaten England in the final in India.

T20 World Cup, Six Sports

Whilst we are incredibly disappointed not to be hosting the event in India, the decision gives us the certainty we need to stage the event in a country that is a proven international host of multi-team events in a bio-secure environment. Our priority is to deliver the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 safely, in full, and in its current window,” said acting ICC CEO Geoff Allardice.

The first round of the tournament, comprising the eight qualifying teams, will now be split between Oman and UAE. The eight teams competing in the preliminary stage are Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, and Papua New Guinea. Four of these teams will then progress to the Super 12s round where they will join the eight automatic qualifiers.

To Top