India’s squad for WTC Final and Test series against England announced

World Test Championship, Six Sports

The Indian cricket team selection committee picked a 20-member India squad for ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand. This team is for the five-match India vs England Test series in the UK on Friday.

Ravindra Jadeja and Hanuma Vihari made a comeback to the Indian test squad after having to skip India vs England test series on home soil due to injury. However, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and Prithvi Shaw have failed to make it to the Indian squad. 

Pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah who missed the last Test against England in early March due to marriage has also returned. Meanwhile, KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha’s inclusion in the Test squad depend on their fitness.

ICC WTC Final Details:

Match: India vs New Zealand

Date: June 18-22

Venue: Southampton

Time: 3:30pm IST

The ICC WTC final will be followed by five Tests against England in August-September. The first Test against England begins on August 4 and the final Test is scheduled to end on September 14. 

Indian Squad for WTC final and England Series:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Stand By: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

To Top