IPL 2021: Top Five Players to win Orange Cap, KL Rahul again?

Orange Cap, Six Sports

The festival of Cricket in India is going to start on 9th April in Chennai. This year Indian Premier League (IPL) will be played in six venues due to a pandemic. Visitors are not allowed inside the stadium but there will be no lack of entertainment this year.

Along with the Champions Trophy, other prestigious trophies are there in the IPL. The highest run-scorer of the season is crowned with the Orange Cap at the end. There are plenty of superstars who are in the race to achieve the cap and we are ready for the entertainment.

K L Rahul from Punjab Kings:

The Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul had an outstanding IPL season last year. In IPL 2020, Rahul won the Orange Cap for scoring 670 runs from 14 games with an average of 55.83.

Orange Cap, Six Sports

Rahul also scored the highest individual score by an Indian player in the history of the IPL during his brilliant knock of 132 runs off 69 balls in the game against RCB.

After the poor performance in the T20I series against England, Rahul will be looking to score big in this year’s IPL to confirm his spot in the Indian playing XI for the T20 World Cup.

David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad:

You can’t avoid this name while talking about the Orange Cap. The Sunrisers Hyderabad captain finished as the third-highest run-getter last year with 548 runs in 16 matches.

Orange Cap, Six Sports

Warner is also the only batsman to score more than 500 runs in six consecutive seasons of the IPL. He has scored five fifties in the previous edition and had a strike rate of 134.64. This year this Aussie will be looking to grab the Orange Cap again.

Virat Kohli from Royal Challengers Bangalore

Though Devdutt Padikkal was the highest run-scorer for the RCB last year, Virat can grab the orange cap this year. He is in outstanding form in home conditions. Kohli scored 466 runs in 15 matches at an average of 42.36 in IPL 2020.

Orange Cap, Six Sports

This year he will be seen as an opener for RCB as well. The Indian Skipper is currently the leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL with a landmark of 5878 runs.

Surya Kumar Yadav from Mumbai Indians

Surya was the batting sensation of IPL 2020 and made his international debut against England this year. He scored a quick half-century in his debut and impressed all.

Orange Cap, Six Sports

He had scored 480 runs in 16 matches for Mumbai Indians at an average of 40 and strike-rate of 145. This year he is a strong contender of the orange cap as well.

Shubhman Gill from Kolkata Knight Riders

After the impressive performances in ODIs and Test cricket Gill will look to take his place in the T20 squad as well. This KKR player has the technique and temperament as well. He was the highest run-scorer for KKR last year.

Orange Cap, Six Sports

He had scored 440 runs in 14 matches with an average of 33.84. This year in high-scoring venues Gill will look to score big and earn the Orange Cap for the very first time.

To Top