IPL Auction 2021: Did RCB overspend on Maxwell and Jamieson?

jamieson joins rcb after ipl auction 2021

With a bag of INR 35.40 crores and a total of 14 slots to be filled, including three overseas slots, RCB joined the IPL 2021 auction. The 2016 edition’s runners-up didn’t back down from investing huge money on the overseas players they needed and they also ensured that are they engaged in young Indian talent at the same time.

The first big pick by RCB was former Punjab Kings’ star. They purchased Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for a whopping INR 14.25 crores. By giving him a total of INR 15 crores, they then went on to rope in Kyle Jamieson, making him the fourth-most expensive player in IPL history.


They spent INR 29.25 cores on only these two purchases(almost 83% of their total purse). Will Maxwell and Jamieson will stand-up to their prices?

Virat Kohli on RCB’ business at IPL 2021 auction:

On Saturday, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Virat Kohli said he was delighted with how his franchise did at the mini-auction, and he thinks the latest acquisitions will help the franchise win this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL)


“Very very happy with our buys and the results we had in the auction. We got what we wanted for the balance and strength of our squad. We had a really good season last year and we believe that the new additions are going to propel us in the right direction going forward,” said Kohli in a video posted on the official Twitter handle of RCB.

Other RCB players buy at the auction include Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Suyash Prabhudesai, and KS Bharat. RCB also acquired the services of Australian all-rounder Daniel Christian for INR 4.8 crores.


RCB had mixed season during IPL 2020 edition as they entered the qualifiers for the first time since 2016. They released some key names like Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Aaron Finch, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, etc ahead of mini-auction.

RCB squad for IPL 2021: Virat Kohli(c), Devdutt Padikkal, Josh Philippe(wk), AB de Villiers(wk), Pavan Deshpande, Washington Sundar, Daniel Sams, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson, Harshal Patel, Glenn Maxwell, Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen(wk), Kyle Jamieson, Daniel Christian, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat(wk).