Khel Ratna recommendations include 11 prolific athletes for the award

Khel Ratna recommendations include 11 prolific athletes for the award, Six Sports

Dhyanchand Khel Ratna award is India’s highest sports award and has been recommended for 11 athletes. The inclusion of so many athletes is not a big surprise, after the unmatched success of both the Tokyo Olympics and Paralympics. It is the highest honor a sportsperson can get for representing the country.

Neeraj Chopra is the first Indian athlete to win an individual gold medal. Certainly, he is on the top of the list to receive the award. While others included in this list are wrestler Ravi Dahiya for winning silver in Tokyo, Lovlina Borgohain for claiming a bronze in boxing, alongside the goalkeeper of the bronze medal-winning hockey team PR Sreejesh are in the mix for the award. The National Sports Award Committee has nominated these heroes for the award.

Gold medal winners of the Tokyo Paralympics are nominated too. The players include Avani Lekhara and Manish Narwal for shooting, Sumit Antil for athletics, Promad Bhagat and Krishna Nagar for badminton. Indian football captain Sunil Chhetri, Indian female cricketer Mitali Raj also made it into the award nominations. Meanwhile, the Khel Ratna award is renamed as Dhyanchand Khel Ratna Award.

Khel Ratna, Six Sports

India created history in the Tokyo Olympics by winning a total of 7 medals. Moreover, among them, three winners Bajrang Punia, PV Sindhu and Mirabai Chanu have already been honored with the award.

The performances in the Paralympics from the athletes was even more outstanding. They bagged a total of 19 medals, which includes five gold medals, eight silver medals and six bronze medals. 

Arjuna Award

A total of thirty-five sports-persons have been nominated for the Arjuna award this year. The inclusions are Bhavani Devi for fencing, boxer Simranjeet Kaur, Deepika Punia for wrestling, pistol shooter Avishek Verma, Vandana Katariya and Monika for their significant contribution which helped in a brilliant performance for the women’s hockey team of India in Olympics, moreover entire men’s hockey team for their bronze medal and others. 

Full list of nominees for Khel Ratna and Arjuna award.

Khel Ratna:

Neeraj Chopra in athletics, Ravi Dahiya for wrestling, PR  Sreejesh for hockey, Lovlina Borgohain in boxing, Sunil Chettri for football, Mithali Raj for cricket, Pramod Bhagat in badminton, Sumit Antil in athletics, Avani Lekhara for shooting, Krishna Nagar in badminton & Manish Narwal for shooting. 

Arjuna Award:

Hockey men’s Olympic bronze medal-winning team barring Manpreet Singh and PR Sreejesh, Shikhar Dhawan in cricket, Arpinder Singh in athletics, Simranjit Kaur for boxing, Bhavani Devi in fencing, Monika for hockey, Vandana Katariya for hockey, Abhishek Verma for shooting, Sandeep Narwal in kabaddi, Ankita Raina in tennis, Deepak Punia for wrestling, Bhavana Patel in table tennis, Yogesh Kathuniya in discus, Nishad Kumar for a high jump, Praveen Kumar for a high jump, Sharad Kumar for a high jump, Suhas LY in badminton, Singhraj Adhana for shooting & Harvinder Singh in archery. 

Follow us on Twitter for regular sports updates.

To Top