New Zealand finally announced their squad for the t20 World Cup 2022

tennis player

All cricket fans around the globe are excited about the event which is going to take place within a few days. It’s the t20 World Cup. The eighth edition of this mega event is going to be hosted in Australia. Australia are the defending champions who lifted the trophy for the first time last year. Most of the participating nations has already announced their squads for the world cup. New Zealand cricket board eventually announced their squad for the t20 world cup too.

New Zealand t20 world cup squad

Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

New Zealand Cricket Board retained their main players and did very limited changes in their squad from the previous world cup. The world cup is going to be held within a span of 1 year. So the board did limited changes and tried to maintain the consistency and backing of players. Todd Astle and Tim Serfeit has been missed out in this edition. Allen and Bracewell replaced them in the squad. Kane Williamson will lead the team one more time. Devon Conway will be the wicketkeeper for this tournament.

Gary Stead’s statement:

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end. With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism.”

New Zealand is placed in group 1 of Super 12.

Follow us for more sports-related news on twitter

To Top