No Rohit in ODIs, Rahul to don captaincy

Rohit, Six Sports

Rohit Sharma, the new captain of Team India in limited-overs format will miss out on his first assignment due to his hamstring injury. Rohit sustained a left hamstring injury while practicing in the Bandra-Kurla complex.

He missed out on the Test series versus South Africa and since he is yet to be match-fit, the BCCI roped in KL Rahul to lead the side resting Rohit. Speedstar Jasprit Bumrah will act as Rahul’s deputy in the series. The selection of the squad in the ODI series did not have many surprises. However, Mohammed Shami is rested for the matches while all-rounder Jadeja and Axar Patel too were excluded as they are currently undergoing recovery from injuries.

Leading performers of the IPL and the Vijay Hazare Trophy Ruturaj Gaikwad and Venkateshwar Iyer made the cut in the 18 member squad. Rumors of Kohli not playing the ODIs perished as the ex-captain is named in the squad. Veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin gets a callback in the blue jersey alongside leggie Yuzvendra Chahal and left-arm spin-allrounder Washington Sundar.

Team India is currently playing a 3 match Test series in the rainbow nation. The series will be followed by a 3 match ODI series. The matches will be played in safe and secure conditions with the 1st two fixtures in Boland Park, Paarl, and the finale in Newlands, Cape Town.

No Rohit in ODIs, Rahul to don captaincy, Six Sports

Team India Squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top