Ranji Trophy 2022: Madhya Pradesh beat Bengal to enter their first Ranji final after 1998-99

tennis player

Madhya Pradesh will be facing Mumbai in the finals of the Ranji Trophy.

This is their first-ever Ranji final after making it in the 1998-99 season of the domestic tournament.

Madhya Pradesh outplayed Bengal in the first semi-final to clinch a spot for the finals.

They won the game by 174 runs after they gave Bengal a target of 350.

The top performers for Madhya Pradesh were Himanshu Mantri, Akshat Raghuwanshi, Rajat Patidar and Aditya Shrivastava with the bat.

With the ball, it was Kumar Kartikeya, Puneet Datey and Gaurav Yadav. Even Saransh Jain picked up wickets for Madhya Pradesh.

For Bengal, it was skipper Abhimanyu Easwaran, Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed.

They kept Bengal’s ship steady by hitting fifties and hundreds.

Madhya Pradesh castled Bengal for just 175 and got a huge margin of victory.

Additionally, Mumbai emerged victorious in the second semi-final against Uttar Pradesh.

However, the second semi-final ended in a stalemate.

Mumbai entered the finals on the basis of their first-innings lead.

For Mumbai, their stars were Yashasvi Jaiswal, Hardik Tamore and Armaan Jaffer.

With the ball, it was the magic of Tushar Deshpande and Tanush Kotian that kept Mumbai in the hunt for a win.

So, a cracking contest between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh awaits us in the Ranji Trophy.

Moreover, it will be interesting to see if Madhya Pradesh lift its maiden trophy or not.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top