St. Kitts crowned 2021 Hero CPL champions in last ball thriller

St. Kitts CPL, Six Sports

St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots have won the Caribbean Premier League or CPL for the first time by defeating the St. Lucia Kings. Batting first, St. Lucia lost 6 wickets in 20 overs and scored 159 runs. In reply, St. Kitts won with a sigh.

First Innings Story of St. Kitts vs St. Lucia: CPL Final

The two scored the highest 43 runs for St. Lucia, Colonel, and Roston Chase. Besides, Kimo Paul played a stormy inning of 39 runs off just 21 balls towards the end. No other batsman has been able to score big runs like that.

St. Kitts CPL, Six Sports

Fahad Ahmed and Nasim Shah took two wickets each for St. Kitts. Fabian Allen, Dominic Drakes and Jean-Ross Jageser also took one wicket each.

Second Innings Story

In response, St. Kitts went down to bat and pushed at the beginning. Chris Gayle returned with zero runs. Evin Lewis then returned to the pavilion with six runs. However, Joshua de Silva and Sherfan Rutherford relied on the third wicket. Joshua was out for 36 and Sherfan for 25.

At that time St. Kitts was in danger once again. Because Dwayne Bravo, the captain of St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots, then returned to the pavilion with 6 runs.

St. Kitts CPL, Six Sports

At that time any team could win the match. It is not easy to turn around when five wickets have fallen at the head of just 95 runs to chase the run in the final. Dominic Drakes and Fabian Allen took over the game while the team was playing.

Dominic remained unbeaten on 48 off 24 balls and led the team to victory with the last ball. Fabian, on the other hand, was out for the much-needed twenty runs.

St. Kitts Joins the CPL Champions Club

This is the first time the Caribbean Premier League champion is St. Kitts. Trinidad and Tobago have been the four-time champion of the tournament since 2013. In 2015, they won the Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel for the first time. The name was later changed to Trinbago Knight Riders.

St. Kitts CPL, Six Sports

That team won the tournament in 2016, 2017, and 2020. Besides, Jamaica Talhawas became the champion in 2013, Barbados Trident in 2014, and Jamaica Talhawas again in 2016. In 2019, Barbados Tridents became the Caribbean Premier League champions again. Then in 2021, St. Kitts are CPL Champions.

To Top