Stuart Broad questions allocation of points in World Test Championship

WTC Broad, Six Sports

England’s pacer Stuart Broad has questioned the points allocation system in the World Test Championship (WTC). He is wondering how a five-match Ashes can be worth the same as a two-game series between India and Bangladesh.

India and New Zealand will lock horns in the final of the inaugural edition in Southampton’s Ageas Bowl from June 18-22.

Point System of WTC:

The ICC mandates that the same number of points be available from each series. This will be irrespective of its length. That’s why countries that play fewer Tests are not affected adversely.

WTC Broad, Six Sports

Match results and not series results are taken into account. In a five-match series, 20 percent of the points are available each match. But in a two-match series, 50 percent of the points are available every game.

What Broad Says about the Point System

“The World Test Championship is a really good concept, I just don’t think it’s quite right yet. It’s a first-time effort. I can’t quite work out how a five-match Ashes series can be worth the same as India playing Bangladesh for two Tests,” Broad said while speaking to ‘Press Association’.

WTC Broad, Six Sports

“There’s something in the idea and it has given great context to the game but there needs to be work done on how it all comes together. We had an opportunity, but the amount of cricket we play as an England side in the current system makes it very difficult to get into the final.”-Broad added.

England played the most number of Tests (21) in the World Test Championship. India were second with 17 matches, while bottom-placed Bangladesh played just seven games.

India dashed both England and Australia’s hopes of making the final of WTC with their back-to-back series triumphs against the two teams earlier this year. England finished fourth in the WTC standings, behind Ashes rivals Australia.

To Top