T20 World Cup Europe: Austria Stunned the Cricketing World by defeating Guernsey and Norway

T20 World Cup Europe, Six Sports

Austria shocked every cricket pundit in the T20 World Cup Europe Sub-Regional Qualifier in Finland by defeating Guernsey as well as Norway en route to a spot in next year’s continental Qualifier.

It implies Austria is in the running for two spots from the European region in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in the United States and the West Indies.

Austria dominated the group phase, defeating Guernsey in a vital match in Vantaa to advance to the tournament final.

After restricting the Channel Islanders to 139, the Austrians managed to cross the line with two wickets and 2 balls to spare to chase down the target of 140-run.

From the beginning Austrians came all guns blazing, Iqbal Hossain contributed 38 from 18 balls as well as Razmal Shigiwal also scored 42 from 29 balls, but a failure in the middle order left the Austrians requiring 15 from in the last two overs with No.8 Abdullah Akbarjan and No.10 Umair Tariq at the crease.

Tariq (12* from six balls) remained composed in the final, steering David Hooper behind point for an unexpected victory.

The final between Austria and Norway was reduced to 14 overs per side, and it was Austria’s Amit Nathwani challenging off-spin that defined the match.

Nathwani forced miscued aerial shots to reach the figure of  3/14 from three overs, while Sahel Zadran (3/10) bowled Norway out for 77.

As Austria got the Sub-Regional trophy, French young gun Gustav McKeon was named Player of the Tournament, scoring 377 runs from 5 knocks with a strike rate of 164.62.

Who will compete in the T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier next year?

The titleholders of the three Sub-Regional competitions (Austria, Denmark, and Italy) will move ahead to the European Finals next year, with two spots reserved for the tournament in the United States and the West Indies in 2024.

The three join Jersey, Germany, and the European teams that did not qualify for 2024 through the 2022 tournament: Ireland, the Netherlands, as well as Scotland.

What will be the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 format?

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has been decided to expand to 20 teams, with qualification shifting from global qualifiers to five-region qualifiers.

The two finalists from the European Regional Final series, as well as qualifiers from East-Asia Pacific, Africa, Asia, as well as the Americas, will gain a spot in the 2024 tournament, along with 12 automatically-qualifying teams.

What’s next for the T20 World Cup qualifier in 2024?

The East Asia-Pacific Sub-Regional A Qualifier, which ditches the hosts with Cook Islands, Fiji, and Samoa, attracts attention to Vanuatu for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Follow us on Twitter to get regular football updates.

To Top