As featured on WolvesFCNews.com


Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club commonly known as Wolves is a professional association football club based in Wolverhampton, England.


The club was formed as St. Luke’s F.C. in 1877. They played at Molineux Stadium since 1889. Moreover, they have been competing in the Premier League, the top division of English football, since winning a promotion in 2018.


The club was one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888. During 26 consecutive seasons spent in the top flight between 1932 and 1965. Moreover, the team was crowned English League champions three times (in 1953–54, 1957–58, and 1958–59). They won all these under the management of Stan Cullis. Wolves also finished English League runners-up in five other seasons. They won between 1937–38 and 1959–60.


Wolves have won the FA Cup four times, most recently in 1960, and finished runners-up on four occasions. The club has also won the League Cup twice, in 1974 and 1980. Moreover, they finished top of all four divisions in the English professional game.


Wolves became one of the first British clubs to install floodlights at its home ground. Moreover, Wolves arranged televised “floodlit friendlies” against leading overseas club sides between 1953 and 1956. These were instrumental in the launch of the European Cup, now known as the UEFA Champions League, in 1955. Wolves reached the quarter-finals of the competition in 1959–60. They reached the semi-finals of the 1960–61 European Cup Winners’ Cup, and the inaugural UEFA Cup Final in 1972. Following a 39-year absence from European competition, they reached the UEFA Europa League quarter-finals in 2020.


Wolves’ traditional kit consists of old gold shirts and socks with black shorts. Since 1979, the jersey has also featured the club’s “wolf’s head” logo. Long-standing rivalries exist with other clubs from the West Midlands. Meanwhile, the main one is the Black Country derby contested with West Bromwich Albion.

More Posts
To Top
error: Content is protected !!