The 2024 T20 World Cup is to be played in a different format

t20 World Cup, Six Sports

The T20 World Cup which would be played in 2024 will have a different format. 20 teams will participate in the tournament. Eight teams competed in two groups in the first round of the 2021 and 2022 tournaments for four positions in the Super 12.

The New Format

The Four additional countries are included in the next World Cup in which countries will be split into four pools of five from the outset. The top two players from each group will then advance into the Super Eight, a second round-robin phase that consists of two sets of four players, rather than a quarterfinal. After this stage, the semifinals will be played.

The Teams

12 teams have already qualified for the World Cup 2024. West Indies automatically qualified for the World Cup being a host. USA will be playing their first World Cup.

Other teams that have automatically qualified for the World Cup are England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, India, Australia, South Africa, and the Netherlands. Bangladesh and Afghanistan too have qualified for the World Cup.
Two nations from each of Europe, Asia, and Africa will compete for each of the remaining eight seats, which will be filled by a group of regional qualifiers; the Americas and East Asia-Pacific regions will each receive one spot.
This format will help the associate nations get global recognition. It will help them compete with the biggest teams in the world.

For more sports information, do visit us on Twitter.

To Top