Virender Sehwag to lead Indian Maharaja In Legends League Cricket

Legends, Six Sports

The Legends League Cricket is just around the corner. Fans are geared up to watch former cricket superstars back in action on the cricket field. The Nawab of Najafgarh Virender Sehwag has been appointed as the skipper of the Indian Maharaja alongside his team-mate from playing days Mohammed Kaif as the vice-captain. World Cup-winning coach John Buchanan has been roped in as the coach for the side.

Teams announce captains, preparations underway

“I can’t wait to work closely with LLC T20 tournament. It’s loved to see all the superstars come together and fight for the inaugural title of the league. These players are retired but they are still very passionate about cricket. I am sure they will show their extra skills for their teams in the next 10 days,” LLC T20 Tournament Commissioner Ravi Shastri stated.

The India Maharaja squad comprises several veterans like Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, and the Pathan brothers. The side will class against Asia Lions and World Giants in the league to race for glory.

Its Legends Vs Legends

2 times WT20 winning skipper Caribbean icon Darren Sammy has been named as the captain of the World Giants. He will lead a team filled with veterans like Kiwi spin wizard Daniel Vettori, swashbuckling batter Kevin Pietersen, Proteas spin king Imran Tahir, and Australian speedster Brett Lee. Jonty Rhoades the man who changed the game as a fielder will be a mentor cum player for the World Giants.

The Asia Lions squad is a rich mix of cricket doyens from the subcontinent. Former Pakistan skipper Misbah Ul Haq will be the captain of the Asia Lions. World Cup-winning captain Sri Lankan legend Arjuna Ranatunga has been roped to coach the side.

“I am excited to see how everyone is involved together and uses their hundred percent to win the trophy for their team. It’s going to be a super thrilling experience for all cricket fans in Oman and all across the globe,” said Raman Raheja, CEO of Howzat LLC T20 league.

The LLC will begin on January 20 in Muscat, Oman.

India Maharajas: Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Badrinath, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Munaf Patel, Sanjay Bangar, Nayan Mongia, and Amit Bhandari

Asia Lions: Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbahul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Younis Khan, and Asghar Afghan.

World Giants: Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen, Daniel Vettori, Darren Sammy, Jonty Rhodes, Imran Tahir, Owais Shah, Herschelle Gibbs, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Corey Anderson, Chris Gayle, Monty Panesar, Brad Haddin, Kevin O’Brien, and Brendan Taylor.

Let’s take a look at the fixtures:

Legends Cricket League 2022 Schedule

Every game will start at 08:00 PM (IST)

January 20: Group League Round 1- India Maharajas vs Asia Lions

January 21: Group League Round 1- World Giants vs Asia Lions

January 22: Group League Round 1- World Giants vs India Maharajas

January 24: Group League Round 2- Asia Lions vs India Maharajas

January 26: Group League Round 2- India Maharajas vs World Giants

January 27: Group League Round 2- Asia Lions vs World Giants

January 29: Grand Finale- TBD vs TBD

The LLC will be live broadcasted by the SONY SPORTS NETWORK. Fans can enjoy live action on SONY TEN 1 and SONY TEN 3. It can also be streamed on the SONY LIV app.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top