West Indies announced the squad for the T20 World cup, Narine out

West Indies Squad, Six Sports

West Indies have announced the strongest squad to fight for the title. No country has won the T20 World Cup twice except the West Indies. The Caribbeans got a taste of winning the T20 World Cup for the first time in 2012 by defeating Sri Lanka by 36 runs in Colombo.

In the last T20 World Cup, West Indies defeated England by four wickets in Kolkata and became the world champions.

Ravi Rampaul back in West Indies Squad

Ravi Rampaul, who was part of Sri Lanka’s first T20 World Cup-winning team, has been named in this year’s T20 World Cup squad. He was last seen in white-ball cricket for the West Indies in 2015. As a result, his comeback is as significant as the mystery spinner Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders is not in the T20 World Cup squad.

West Indies Squad, Six Sports

Rampaul, 36, is in good form for the Trincomalee Knight Riders on the Caribbean Premier League spin-assisted St. Kitts pitch. The highest wicket-taker in the CPL so far. He also played well in the Super Fifty Cup, being the second-highest wicket-taker. That is why he has been included in the team.

Roston Chase in, Sunil Narine Out

Off-spin bowling all-rounder Roston Chase, who has not played a T20 international for the West Indies, has been named in the West Indies T20 World Cup squad led by Kieron Pollard as a reward for playing well for St. Lucia in the CPL twice in a row. Chase is still the highest run-scorer in the CPL.

West Indies Squad, Six Sports

Sunil Narine has played in CPL, IPL, even The Hundred but has not played for West Indies since 2019. Since then, he has said he is not ready to play international cricket.

West Indies Squad, Six Sports

Hayden Walsh Jr. is the only specialist spinner in the 15-man squad without Narine. Apart from Chase, spin bowling all-rounder, Fabian Allen could be in the starting XI. Spinner Akeal Hossain has also been kept as a reserve along with veteran Sheldon Cottrell and Darren Bravo.

Oshane Thomas, Bravo in the squad, Holder as reserve

While Narine is not in the squad, Jason Holder will be with the team as a reserve. Dwayne Bravo is in the squad for the T20 World Cup despite not playing in the CPL since he suffered a groin injury.

West Indies Squad, Six Sports

Oshane Thomas, who played well for the Barbados Royals in the CPL, is also in the World Cup squad. Chris Gayle was recently bowled by Thomas at a speed of 142 kmph. He regularly travels 140 km per hour. The ball is fast.

West Indies T20 World Cup squad will play 9 IPL players. World champions West Indies will begin their T20 World Cup campaign on October 23 against one-day World Cup winners England. The two teams also faced each other in the final of the last T20 World Cup in 2016.

The squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein.

To Top