West Indies Women name a new-look squad for the upcoming ODI series

West Indies, Six Sports

West Indies women are going to play against New Zealand women for 3 one day matches. The West Indian Cricket Board announced a newly named 17-member squad for the upcoming ODI series. Major player names are missing from the squad. We will get to see new faces in the upcoming matches.

All-rounder Hayley Matthews will take the responsibility of captaincy for this tour. Captain Stafanie Taylor is excluded from this squad. Along with her experienced duo, Anisa Mohammed and Kycia Knight will also be missing this tour. This will be the very first series after the retirement of Deandra Dottin.

Cricket West Indies lead selector Ann Browne-John statement:

“The New Zealand series is very important on the women’s cricket landscape not only because it starts a new cycle, but also because it is part of the preparation leading towards the T20 World Cup in South Africa. With a few senior players unavailable at this time, for different reasons, like the experienced Anisa Mohammed, Kycia Knight and recently retired Deandra Dottin, the selectors were still able to get a blend of senior and developing players including Under-19 player Jannillea Glasgow and returning players Natasha McLean and Sheneta Grimmond. Ultimately, we believe that captain Hayley Matthews, in her first series, will have a promising squad of players to start building with.”

The venue of these 3 ODI matches will be Sir Vivian Richards Stadium. The ODI series will commence from September 16. The ODI matches will be followed by 5 matches t20i commencing from September 25.

West Indies Squad

Hayley Matthews (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams

For more sports content, do visit us on Twitter.

To Top