Shami should’ve been in India’s squad of 15, Jadeja will be missed, says Prasad T20 World Cup 2022

tennis player

India had a disappointing campaign in Asia Cup 2022. They were favorites in the tournament but could not be the finalists. India will play 2 home series against South Africa and Australia before t20WC. India will play with their full squad in these 2 series. They will have proper practice before t20WC. BCCI recently declared a squad for t20WC. Bumrah and Harshal made their comeback and Jadeja was ruled out of the tournament due to injury. Mohammad Shami along with 2 other players have been kept as reserves. Former Indian pacer expressed dissatisfaction over Shami’s exclusion from the t20WC squad.

Venkatesh Prasad’s remarked on Shami’s exclusion from the t20WC squad.

Venkatesh Prasad’s statement:

“It is a balanced squad, really good one. It has amazing batters and all-rounders. Jadeja has missed out but would have added more value. Bowling looks very good. There are a lot of variations. They have brought Arshdeep Singh as a left-arm seamer, he brings a different angle. There is experienced Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar. I would have loved to see Shami though. “

India is going with the same batting lineup as of Asia Cup 2022. Jadeja has been ruled out since Asia Cup due to injury. He would have added more balance as he can give his best in 3 departments. Instead of him, Axar Patel has been added to the all-rounder pool along with Hardik Pandya. India were criticized for bowling unit in Asia Cup 2022. Having played with only 3 front-line seamers they had very limited choice. Bumrah and Harshal returned after their injury so it will add more balance as well as variety.

India squad for t20WC

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Reserved players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

To Top