Indian squad announced for the Test series against New Zealand

tennis player

India‘s squad for the Test series against New Zealand has been announced recently. The main point was that the regular captain Virat Kohli will not be available in the first test. So his deputy Ajinkya Rahane will be led in the first test.

Virat Kohli will be back in the second test and take his role as the captain. However many big-name players are missing from the squad. According to the BCCI, they have been resting to manage their workload.

The likes of the new T20 captain Rohit Sharma, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant and the pace duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are rested for the 2 match test series.

In the squad, there are some new faces as well as some making a comeback. Middle-order batsman Shreyas Iyer and off-spinner Jayant Yadav have made a comeback. 

Hanuma Vihari dropped

Although the most notable omission was that of Hanuma Vihari. It is reported that Vihari is going to be drafted into the India A side, which will be touring South Africa for 3 matches.

Vihari’s performance will be monitored. After that, it will be decided that if he will be able to keep his place in the National team.

“We are sending Vihari to South Africa for the A-series and his performance in the three ‘A Test’ matches will be monitored,”

a senior BCCI functionary confirmed the development. 

According to sources, both Vihari’s present and past forms have been considered before the selection of the squad. Vihari played his last six first-class matches in England for his county side Warwickshire.

He had a mixed form as he scored 32, 58, 8, 0, 24 and 43 not out. He played the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament with scores of 26, 7, 57 and 4. 

It was also reported that Vihari’s approach to the game is the same as that of Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara. Both of them bat at the middle order and the team needed a player capable of attacking. 

Selection trouble for Rahane

A player like Mayank Agarwal whose preferred batting position is at the top can also be shifted to the middle order. At present, every opener of the team has played in the middle order.

The selection of the team cannot be predicted as there’s always a chance that Mayank can be given the nod ahead of Iyer. This reason makes it very clear how competitive the middle order of the team is.

The veteran Bengal wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha is the oldest member of the squad. The 37-year-old after a long time long will be seen on the field again.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the main spinners of the team. The likes of Axar Patel, who had an exceptional tour against England is also called up. Axar will fancy his chance to get a chance as well. The backup of Ashwin can be considered as Jayant Yadav. He has been called after a long time to the squad. 

The pace battery after resting of some important players will consist Ishant Sharma, Umesh Jadav and Mohammed Siraj. The young pacer Prasidh Krishna is drafted as the fourth pacer. K.S Bharat was given a chance and was called into the national setup.

Squad List

Ajinkya Rahane(Captain for the 1st test), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

It looks like the BCCI and its selectors are not only looking at the present results, but also helping talented youths. The potential that the present youth teams have is a clear symbol that the future is bright for the county in cricket.

Follow us on Twitter for regular sports updates.

To Top