Australia declares squad for New Zealand and Zimbabwe

tennis player

Australia has declared a 14 men’s squad for the upcoming ODI matches against Zimbabwe and New Zealand. The Zimbabwe series will start on 28th August, prior to the New Zealand one. The first ODI against New Zealand will be on 6th September. Australia will play three matches against New Zealand in Townsville, before a trio of matches against Zimbabwe in Cairns.

Zampa is back in Australia camp; New Zealand and Zimbabwe to face a strong team.

World Class Spinner Adam Zampa will be finally back into the squad..he was on vacation since his wife delivered their first child. Ashton Agar and Sean Abbott will be back too recovering their side strain and broken finger injuries respectively. Selectors preferred having just Alex Carey to travel as the only wicketkeeper with the team.

Pat rested

Regular test skipper Pat Cummins has been rested in these series. The team management has dropped several names who were a part of the Sri Lanka tour. The tour went to Sri Lanka’s name (3-2). Names like Josh Inglis and Mitchell Swepson, Jhye Richardson, as well as Matthew Kuhnemann failed to secure spots in the top 14, keeping in mind the conditions of the subcontinent. Travis Head had a great tour in Pakistan but got a hamstring injury against Sri Lanka. Hence Head will be missing these tours.

Zimbabwe to face a strong squad

According to Australian batter as well as national selector George Bailey, both Zimbabwe and New Zealand are to have a great challenge in the coming month. Bailey said,

“These series against New Zealand, the world’s no.1 ranked ODI side, and Zimbabwe will be good contests, providing an opportunity to play some great cricket in the lead up to the home summer”

Australia ODI Squad

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top