Australia to have fresh faces in T20 series against South Africa


Australia set to field three uncapped players in their playing XI for the first T20I against the Proteas. Spencer Johnson, Matt Short and Aaron Hardie will make their T20I debut in Kingsmead, Durban on Wednesday, 30th August.

Aussies lead by Mitchell Marsh will have an opportunity to test their bench. With most of the first-choice players either injured or unavailable. This presents a golden opportunity for youngsters to impress the selectors. Also, it will be a test for Mitchell Marsh as he is been termed as the next white-ball captain of Australia after Pat Cummins.

Many senior players are unavailable for Australia,

Because of injuries and work-load management, many Australia’s first choice players are unavailable. Likes of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell are suffering from injuries. And some other players are given rest in order to manage their work-load ahead of the World Cup in October.

Domestic performances gets the reward,

With the recent bowling exploits in the domestic matches Johnson, Hardie and Short have earned the call-up to the national team.

Johnson had a solid campaign in the Sheffield Shield 2022/23 season, wherein he claimed 16 wickets in just three outings, maintaining an average economy of 3.54. In addition to this, he grabbed headlines during The Hundred 2023 match against Manchester Originals. He returned the most economical figures in the competition, giving away a solitary run in his 20 deliveries and racked up three scalps.  

On the other hand, 24-year-old Aaron Hardie, who has been named in Australia’s preliminary World Cup squad. Will make his international debut against South Africa in the upcoming T20I.

Australia after the conclusion of this series. Will be touring to India for the three-match ODI series. This will act as the preparation for the Australian team ahead of the World Cup in India.

Australia first T20I XI v South Africa:

Matt Short, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh (c), Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Aaron Hardie, Sean Abbott, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Spencer Johnson.

For more sports updates, follow us on Twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

To Top