SA20 player auction schedule for September 19 by CSA T20 league commissioner

tennis player

CSA T20 league commissioner Graeme Smith announced on Wednesday morning. Meanwhile, the SA20 moniker has been dependent upon the recently established CSA T20 league. Hence In a press conference on Wednesday, Graeme Smith revealed the franchise-based T20 league’s new moniker and confirmed the player auction.

Therefore, the inaugural season will take place on September 19. Moreover, All six competing teams, the owner of IPL franchise-owned, have already made some notable. Hence they signings, with three teams announcing the direct acquisition of five players from a pool apiece.

Following a couple of prior failures, Graeme Smith, the commissioner of the impending league, commented on South Africa’s attempt to establish a premier Twenty20 competition.

CSA T20 league commissioner Graeme Smith’s statement

“As South Africa enters this brand-new and exciting period of cricket, we chose a name because it is straightforward and can be distinctly ours. It has been a joy for us to build it. Hence, we hope others will appreciate it and want to be a part of it”.

Smith remarked during the press conference.

However, the former South African captain also alluded to a women’s version of the competition. Hence, it was not possible to have both tournaments this time around due to the organization. Hence the ICC Women’s World Cup in South Africa in 2023. Following the SA20, planned for the future.

The six teams that have acquired the players so far

Gerald Coetzee, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, and Romario Shepherd are all on the roster for the CSK-owned Johannesburg Super Kings. The RPSG group has hired Quinton de Kock, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, and Prenelan Subrayen for RPSG Durban.

While Rashid Khan, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Kagiso Rabada, and Dewald Brevis are members of Reliance Industries’ MI Cape Town. Four players have joined the Paarl Royals, the sibling team of the Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, David Miller, Obed McCoy, and Corbin Bosch.

Additionally, Sunrisers Eastern Cape (Aiden Markram and Ottniel Baartman) and Pretoria Capitals (Anrich Nortje and Migael Pretorius) each have two players. After the T20 Global League and Mzansi Super League’s failures.

Hence, South Africa plans to restart franchise cricket in the nation. Therefore the SA20 will start to play in January of the following year.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

To Top