India and Australia will play each other for 5 Test series from the next FTP cycle

tennis player

From the next FTP cycle, India and Australia are scheduled to play 5 Test series against each other.

These will include both home and away series for both of them.

Next year’s Test series between the two nations will remain a 4-match Test series.

Steve Waugh was happy with the announcement and said that it is a great initiative.

Australia and England play each other continuously for the Ashes every year.

Waugh himself played only 7 Test series against India, 3 of which he captained.

India also takes part in the Test series against England on a regular basis and now the same formula will apply between them and Australia.

The Australian press also reported about the proposition in great detail and reported that this will open the floodgates for another broadcast deal.

FTP’s next cycle will come into effect after next year’s ICC World Test Championship ends.

ICC is going to approve the idea of the next FTP at their Birmingham meeting.

India and Australia have faced each other multiple times in Tests and these series have involved five or more Tests.

The exception was the 1979-80 series between India and Australia ran for a period of 6 Tests.

The 2023 series is a crucial one for both teams as it will boost their chances of making it to the finals of the World Test Championship.

This year, the Australian team will visit India for six white-ball games.

It consists of 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is but with the ICC T20 World Cup in October, a final decision will be taken whether the two teams will play 3 ODIs or not.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :