Legends League Cricket named captains for respective teams

tennis player

Legends League Cricket (LLC) have declared the names of the respective teams’ captains. Indian stalwart Virendra Sehwag will be the captain of Gujarat Giants. Gautam Gambhir however will be the captain of India Capitals. Moreover Irphan Pathan will take charge of Bhilwara Kings. Harbhajan Singh will lead the Manipal Tigers.

There will be four teams in the upcoming session of LLC. Each will be playing 16 matches in six different cities. The league will ring its bell on September 16 at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. Therafter, Lucknow, New Delhi, Cuttack and Jodhpur will be hosting the coming matches.

Virendra Sehwag after getting the captaincy in LLC, said,

“I am excited to get back to the cricket ground again. I have personally always believed in playing fearless cricket and I will continue to propagate the same brand of cricket here too. We are extremely excited and eagerly waiting for the draft to pick our team.”

Gambhir also expressed his views with his role in LLC. He said,

“I have always believed cricket is a team game and a captain is as good as his team. While I will be leading the India Capitals team, I will be pushing for a spirited team who are passionate and eager to go out and win as a team.”

Harbhajan Singh said,

“Playing alongside all great players over the years, I have picked the nuances of the game which has made me a better cricketer. I love leading from the front and I hope I can do justice to the responsibility and faith shown on me.”

Irfan Pathan however played the first edition of LLC He said,

“You need to enjoy what you are doing and giving 100% to that effort is all that matters. This opportunity is unique but am confident we as a team will make some heads turn.”

LLC had moreover named the present BCCI President as well as tgw former India captain Sourav Ganguly as the captain of India Maharajas. In the first match, his team will face Elin Morgan led World Giants on 16th September.

Legends League Cricket squad

Moreover, the league has signed 53 former cricketers. The list includes Muthiah Muralidaran, Misbah-ul-Haq, Jonty Rhodes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Shane Watson, Ross Taylor and Dale Steyn.

Lions and Capitals squads are not yet declared. However, for Maharajas and Giants have declared their respective squads. They are:

India Maharajas: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Irfan Pathan, Parthiv Patel (wk), Stuart Binny, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh, Naman Ojha (wk), Ashok Dinda, Pragyan Ojha, Ajay Jadeja, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma, Reetinder Singh Sodhi

World Giants: Eoin Morgan (capt), Lendl Simmons, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Sanath Jayasuriya, Matt Prior (wk), Nathan McCullum, Jonty Rhodes, Muthiah Muralidaran, Dale Steyn, Hamilton Masakadza, Mashrafe Mortaza, Asghar Afghan, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Kevin O’Brien, Denesh Ramdin (wk).

The Great Sachin Tendulkar will lead the India legends in Road Safety World Series.

Sachin Tendulkar, meanwhile, will be leading the defending champions India Legends in the second session of the Road Safety World Series (RSWS).

The tournament, is aimed to create awareness regarding the road safety. RSWS will also feature teams from Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, England and, for the first time, New Zealand. The tournament however, will start on and from 10th September at Kanpur. with other games set to be played in

However, Indore, Dehradun and Raipur will be hosting other matches. October 1 will witness the final of the tournament

Follow us on Twitter

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

To Top