Madhya Pradesh lifts maiden title; Chandrakant Pandit in tears of joy

tennis player

It was all smiles and tears as Madhya Pradesh lifted its first-ever Ranji Trophy.

They beat 41-time champions Mumbai to achieve this feat after Rajat Patidar scored the winning runs.

Head coach Chandrakant Pandit was all emotional and tears came to his eyes after his team won the match.

Madhya Pradesh last won the Ranji Trophy in their former avatar of Holkar 69 years back.

After this, they got a second shot at glory in the 1998-99 season when Pandit was captain but they lost to Karnataka.

It had been 23 years since Madhya Pradesh tasted success at the domestic tournament.

MP had to chase down just 108 runs for the victory with two sessions at their disposal.

Mumbai tried to dominate MP but the bowlers kept a tight check on the flow of runs.

The 41-time champs saw wickets being lost early on in their innings.

In their first innings, MP made a massive 536 runs with three centurions in Patidar, Shubham and Dubey.

Shams Mulani was the stand-out bowler with his fifer for 173 runs.

In Mumbai’s first innings, they played well with Sarfaraz Khan making a ton and Yashasvi Jaiswal scoring 78.

They made 374 runs and fell short by 162 runs.

Mumbai batted again in the second innings and scored 269 and gave MP a target of 108 runs.

Madhya Pradesh had no problems chasing down the target and they made it look pretty easy.

While it was an emotional moment for Pandit, the younger group of players led by Aditya Shrivastava, enjoyed their maiden win.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

To Top