Pathirana and Hangargekar become youngest players to win IPL


Chennai Super Kings’ Matheesha Pathirana and Rajvardhan Hangargekar are now the youngest players to win the IPL trophy.

On the 29th of May, CSK defeated Gujarat Titans at Ahmedabad to clinch their fifth title of the tournament and they relished their win.

Additionally, Ravindra Jadeja was spot on in the last two balls of the innings as he hit a six and a four.

Previously, it was Rahul Chahar and Ravindra Jadeja who won the IPL trophy as the youngest players of the tournament back in 2019 and 2008 respectively.

Pathirana was exceptional with the ball in hand for CSK as he finished the third-highest wicket-taker in the tournament as well.

He played some exceptional cricket in this year’s IPL.

Also, his bowling actions are similar to the legendary Lasith Malinga who used to bowl the same during his heydays.

Pathirana finished with 19 wickets from 12 games and had an average of 19.52 and an economy rate of 8.

On the other hand, Rajvardhan Hangargekar played two games for CSK at the start of the tournament and picked up three wickets.

Chennai now equal with Mumbai in clinching five IPL titles

Talking about the match, Chennai Super Kings won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Gujarat Titans played some superb cricket in the final and Sai Sudharsan was the standout player with 96 runs from 47 balls.

However, rain played spoilsport yet again but finally, CSK had to chase down 171 in 15 overs as the rain ceased.

It was a good batting effort from Chennai as they won the game on the last ball and clinched their 5th IPL trophy.

They are now level with Mumbai Indians’ five trophies in the IPL and are going to relish this moment for a long time to come.

Follow Six Sports on Twitter for more.

To Top