Sourav Ganguly eligible, not confirmed for BCCI president

tennis player

The Supreme Court has finally agreed to edit the cooling-off clause present in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)’s constitution. The deck has however been pulled off. Henceforth, it’s clear that President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah, the two leading office bearers, will continue for more than 3 years.

However, the Supreme court order hasn’t confirmed Ganguly’s continuation of the term yet. Ganguly got the position after being unanimously elected in 2019 October.

A senior board functionary said,

“It’s a member’s body. Now, the eligibility criteria have changed. So, few more people would become eligible. Let the house decide.”

In the BCCI’S AGM, both Shah and Ganguly’s continuation will be decided. Its notice will soon be out in the public domain. However, none of them were available for statements.

BCCI officials however will follow the elections of the International Cricket Council (ICC). ICC will conduct it in this November. The present Chairman, Greg Barclay from New Zealand wants to continue for another term. However, BCCI probably aim to step up one of their own.

Continuity always helps any organization: BCCI treasurer Arun Dhamal

All former and present administrators have welcomed the order from Supreme Court. Moreover, they believe, this will help the administrative flow.

Arun Dhumal, the BCCI treasurer said,

“The application was moved with the interest of BCCI in mind and not any individuals. Continuity always helps any organization because you need to have long term goals for the sports body and cricket. We are happy that the Court has been magnanimous enough to reconsider and accept some of our amendments.”

Niranjan Shah, the former BCCI secretary said,

“The positive part is the court has respected the collective wisdom of the BCCI. It is very difficult to function without continuity in office. So far as the view that people will be in power for ever, that’s never happened in the BCCI because you have to win elections democratically every time.”

To Top