Top 10 Players with most centuries in IPL history

tennis player

Since its inauguration in 2008 Indian Premier League (IPL) has become the most popular domestic cricket tournament all over the globe. IPL has given many world-class players in all these years. The Tournament is considered a paradise for the batsman, as we see a large number of boundaries being hit by the batsman. 

Although T20 is known for its attacking batting, getting a century for a batsman is very difficult. However, over the years, we have seen many players reach milestones. Today we are going to look at the top 10 players with the most centuries in the IPL.

Top 10 Players with Most Centuries in IPL History

  1. Chris Gayle: PBKS and West Indies

Chris Gayle can be certainly called the greatest T20 player of all time. Gayle has been playing in the IPL since its inauguration. He has hit six centuries in total till now. Gayle scored his first century in the year 2011. In that innings, he scored 102 runs off just 55 balls, with 10 fours and 7 sixes. Gayle has played a total of 142 matches in the IPL and has scored 4965 runs at an average of 39.72 and strike rate of 148.96. 

  1. Virat Kohli: RCB and India

Virat Kohli has been part of the RCB franchise from the start of the tournament. However, until 2016 Virat never scored a century in the IPL. The Indian talisman has scored a total of 5 centuries till now. Virat has till now scored 6283 runs in 207 matches with an average of 37.44 and a strike rate of 129.9. He is the first Indian to score 10000 runs in T20s. 

  1. David Warner: SRH and Australia

David Warner is considered one of the most successful foreign players in the IPL history. He has scored a total of 5449 in 150 matches. The Aussie has scored a total of 4 centuries till now. 

  1. Shane Watson: Former CSK and Australia

Shane Watson was among the best all-rounders of the game. He played an important part for the Rajasthan Royals in the 1st IPL. In 2018 Watson scored a century in the final and helped his former team CSK win the trophy. The Aussie has scored 4 centuries in the IPL. He has scored a total of 3874 runs in 145 matches 

  1. AB De Villiers: RCB and South Africa

AB De Villiers is one of the most loved overseas cricketers in India. He joined RCB in the year 2011. Mr. 360 is a name that he got due to his ability to hit the ball all over the ground. He has scored 3 centuries in IPL. De Villiers has scored a total of 5162 runs in 184 matches with a strike rate of 151.7.

  1. Sanju Samson: RR and India

Sanju Samson is a wicketkeeper-batsman from Kerala. He is tied with AB De Villiers with 3 centuries to his name. He has scored 3068 runs in 121 matches in the tournament.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan: DC and India

Shikhar Dhawan has been a part of the IPL from the beginning. Over the years he has been in and out of many teams. However, in 2019 he returned to Delhi Capitals where he started his career. Dhawan has scored 5784 runs in 192 matches. He has 2 centuries to his name as well. 

  1. Ajinkya Rahane: DC and India

Ajinkya Rahane started his career with Mumbai Indians. Over the years he has been in many teams but is currently at Delhi Capitals. He has scored 2 centuries in the IPL so far. Rahane has scored a total of 3941 runs in 151 matches with an average of 31.52.

  1. KL Rahul: PBKS and India

KL Rahul is the opener of the Indian team in the T20 format and is the vice-captain as well. He is also a player who emerged in the IPL. He has also scored 2 centuries and has 3273 runs in just 94 matches.

  1. Brendon McCullum: Former RCB and New Zealand

Brendon McCullum was the first player to hit a century in the IPL. The Kiwi batsman has been a part of many teams over the years. He has also scored 2 centuries in IPL. Over the years McCullum has scored 2880 runs in 109 matches.

In the list of the top 10 players with the most centuries in IPL history, we can see that 5 of them are Indian players. 

Stay updated by following us on Twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

To Top