Verstappen and Leclerc among 6 drivers to take grid penalties for Belgian GP

Max Verstappen Ferrari

Title rivals Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc are all set to start Belgian GP from the back of the grid thanks to grid penalties along with four other drivers.

Formula 1 is back after the summer break. The sport returns to the iconic Spa Francorchamps circuit for the Belgian GP. The drivers have all recharged their batteries for the remaining 9 races.

However, few drivers are not going to get the restart they would want. At least, not in terms of grid position.

In a rather interesting outcome, 6 out of the 20 drivers are going to incur grid penalties at Belgian GP. These 6 drivers include – Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, Lando Norris, Esteban Ocon, Valtteri Bottas and Mick Schumacher.

All have exceeded their power unit allocations hence, suffering penalties.

It was indicated earlier only that, Verstappen and Leclerc were bound to suffer grid penalties.

FIA confirmed the penalties as the cars took the track for the first free practice here at Spa.

Ferrari changed power unit components in Leclerc’s car for introducing a new hybrid upgrade of the engine. They chose Spa for the same due to its high-speed nature and overtaking possibilities.

It will be the second engine-related penalty for Charles Leclerc this season. Earlier, in Canada Leclerc also received a penalty starting from P19 in the race. The Monegasque managed to minimize damage by recovering and finishing P5.

On the other hand, Max Verstappen would be facing his first power unit related grid penalty this season.

Ultimate starting positions will be determined only after the qualifying session of Saturday.

With both main drivers of Ferrari and Red Bull starting at the back of the grid, it’s Mercedes’ and Lewis Hamilton’s best opportunity to register their first win of the season.

For more updates, follow us on twitter.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & LinkedIn.

For more sports updates, make sure to follow us on:

To Top
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :